Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
  • Services  

    Order Services

    See All Plans & Bundles

    Special Deals

    Moving Made Easy

     

    Current Customers

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle




    Find out which Verizon services are available at your address.

  • My Verizon  

    Email & Calls

    Check Email

    Verizon Visual 411

     

     

    Bill & Payment

    View Bill

    Pay Bill

    Pay Final Bill

    Manage Auto Pay

    Manage Paper Free Billing

    My Services

    Add or Change Services

    Renew or Change Bundle

    Review Account

    Manage My Internet

    Manage My Voice

     

  • Support  

    Community help

     

     

     

     

  • Watch FiOS  

    Watch thousands of your favorite TV shows and movies On Demand and Live. Rent or buy your favorites and watch them on any device. Or, check what's on tonight and program your DVR. You can do it all!

    Watch Free TV & Movies

     

     

    Rent or Buy

    Set your TV Viewing Experience

  • Trending  

    Check out this personalized, real-time feed featuring the latest content and entertainment from around the Web including new headlines, sports, entertainment and more.

     

     

     

     

     

    See what's Trending!

Reply
Contributor
kcas72
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2008
0 Kudos

Splitters

I have a problem maybe someone can help me with.  I added 2 TV's last week.  Now I have 4.  The splitter Verizon originally gave me only supports 3 TV's so I need a new one.  I tried using my splitter that I had with my satellite hookup, which says 40-2500 MGHZ, which is better than the verizon one.  However, with that splitter I don't get access to DVR or On Demand.  The splitter seems to not be strong enough for the signal?  Is there something I'm missing?  Is a digital splitter not compatible for FIOS?

 

What kind of splitter do I need exactly?  I'm having trouble finding a splitter for 5 or more TV's.  Originally, I picked up another 3 TV splitter and thought I could jump off of one splitter to another, but didn't work.  Any thoughts?

Silver Contributor IV
TimSykes
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Device: Google G1
Plan: 20/5
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

You would need the same rated one as verizon put in. I beleve they are 1000 
Contributor
kcas72
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

They gave me one that says 5-1000 MGHZ.  the one I tried was 40-2500.  So are you saying it needs to be exact?  I thought going for  larger rated one would be fine also.
Silver Contributor IV
TimSykes
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Device: Google G1
Plan: 20/5
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

[ Edited ]
The fios system does not like when there is to much or to little power going into the system. I don't know the specifics on how much it will take. But I do know if there is to much or to little the system will not work correctly. I am sure someone will chime it with the specifics. 
Message Edited by TimSykes on 11-24-2008 08:05 AM
Silver Contributor IV
Telcoguru
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Device: Actiontec Rev I
Plan: FDV\75 down 75 up
Location: Fresh Meadows, NY
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

You need a splitter that supports 2-way traffic. The STB uses MOCA for communication between the router and STBs. Get a 4-way splitter rated 5-1000Mhz that supports 2-way traffic. PDI and Antronix are the two off the top of my head.
Silver Contributor IV
CRobGauth
Posts: 1,199
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

Here's a link to a good discussion on splitters on FIOS:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,21170238?hilite=splitter

Bronze Contributor II
CapnTrips
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Location: Northern Virginia/DC
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

[ Edited ]

kcas72 wrote:
They gave me one that says 5-1000 MGHZ.  the one I tried was 40-2500.  So are you saying it needs to be exact?  I thought going for  larger rated one would be fine also.

 

You have a misconception.  40-2500 is not "larger" or "better" than 5-1000.  It is a different frequency range.  FIOS uses splitters that cover the frequency range from 5 MHz to 1000 MHz.  It makes no difference that your splitter goes ABOVE 1000 MHz, since FIOS does not use the bandwidth between 1000 and 2500 MHz.  That higher top end doesn't hurt, but it does nothing to help.  On the other hand, if the splitter you installed does not go down to 5 MHz, but cuts off at 40 MHz, then you are cutting off a signirficant portion of the bandwidth that FIOS MAY use, between 5 MHz and 40 MHz (I don't know if that frequency band is or is not ACTUALLY used, but why reduce your bandwidth in a region that their equipment presumably provides for?).  So you are best off using a splitter that has the same rating, but if it's different, the low number should be equal to or LESS than 5 MHz, and the high number must be equal to or GREATER than 1000 MHz.  In the best circumstance, it should make no difference but should certainly not provide any IMPROVEMENT.

 

As to cascading splitters, there was an earlier discussion.  There is no such thing as a true 3-way splitter, just multiple 2-way splits.  The three-way splitter is not really a three-way splitter.  It's a 2-way splitter with one of the two streams immediately (internally) split again for three outputs.  If you look closely at the 3-way splitter, you will see that ONE output has 3.5 db attenuation, while the other two have 7.0 db attenuation.  If the line you contemplate splitting is the one that has only been attenuated by 3 db, then you can install a 2-way splitter anywhere in that path.  If on the other hand you put another splitter on one of the lines that are already reduced by 7.0 db, you're really suffering a lot of signal loss (10.5 db which is about 90%).  You can replace the 3-way with a 4-way, and each output will be attenutaed by 7.0 dB.

 

EDIT:  First paragraph edited to address the comment in the next post.

Message Edited by CapnTrips on 11-25-2008 04:44 PM
Gold Contributor III
Keyboards
Posts: 2,298
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
Plan: Extreme HD DV /50/25
Location: SE Pennsylvania
0 Kudos

Re: Splitters

[ Edited ]

CapnTrips wrote:

....  On the other hand, if the splitter you installed does not go down to 5 MHz, but cuts off at 40 MHz, then you are cutting off a signirficant portion of the bandwidth that FIOS DOES use, between 5 MHz and 40 MHz.  So you are best off using a splitter that has the same rating, but if it's different, the low number must be equal to or LESS than 5 MHz, and the high number must be equal to or GREATER than 1000 MHz.


Please explain to me what frequency Verizon uses below 40 MHz.  Cable companies use it for modem return path, but Verizon doesn't use anything below RF channel 2 (54 MHz - IIRC their OOB is around 70 MHz) and all the MoCA is above the video band (> 870 MHz).

Message Edited by Keyboards on 11-25-2008 04:09 PM
If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
 

My Verizon

Support Tools

Watch FiOS

Trending

  • Visual 411