Customers With Disabilities
  • RESIDENTIAL
  • BUSINESS

    Verizon Business Sites

  • WIRELESS
Reply
Copper Contributor
gene1802
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2009
0 Kudos

Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

I am ordering Fios TV and I wondered if the Home Media is any better than the standard DVR. evidently you can't play your Dvr on another HD TV only on the standard set top box. That's dumb. Besides the fact that the Home Media DVR can send things to a standard box TV is it any better than the standard DVR. Is the quality of recording any better. Can you still get Extreme HD with the standard DVR box? Thanks.
Silver Contributor IV
TimSykes
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
Device: Google G1
Plan: 20/5
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

You can stream HD and SD shows to a HD STB, and SD shows to a SD STB. That is the true benefit to the Home Media DVR.
Contributor
dap76
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-20-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

There is a big flaw with the HMDVR.  Search "Unable to Locate Hub" and you'll learn all about it.  I would go with 2 normal DVRs over 1 Home media DVR and an HD STB.
Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,838
Registered: ‎08-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR


dap76 wrote:
There is a big flaw with the HMDVR.  Search "Unable to Locate Hub" and you'll learn all about it.  I would go with 2 normal DVRs over 1 Home media DVR and an HD STB.

 

Reports I have seen say that the new 1.6.2 level of the IMG fixes most or all of the "unable to locate hub" and other multi-room problems. The new level is currently being rolled out across the country, gradually, but all areas should have it "soon." So I think in a few weeks your advice will be incorrect, and is already in

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248correct where the new level is available now.

 

 

Copper Contributor
gene1802
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

well, now I'm not sure what to do. I am set up to have things installed on 3/20/09. I ordered the HMDVR. How would I know if it's a upgraded model or one that may cause problems later. So is it true that the basic DVR will not record in HD at all. Must you have the HMDVR to record things in HD? Thanks.
Gold Contributor VII
Justin
Posts: 4,838
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

Let me try to clarify things:

 

1) There are two DVR models available right now, the newer 7216 and the older 6416, both are HD, and both have basically the same functionality today. The newer model has some hardware differences that may make a difference in the future, but for right now they are pretty much equivalent. Verizon had an SD DVR for a short time, but I am pretty sure it is no longer available (but it is still listed at the link below). Here is a link to a web page that shows all of the available boxes, with links to the User Guides if you are interested:

 

http://www22.verizon.com/ResidentialHelp/FiOSTV/Receivers/User%20Guides/User%20Guides.htm

 

2) The hardware in the HD DVRs is the same, whether you order the multi-room capability or not. Verizon just activates some code in the DVR for you to have the multi-room support. You can order the DVR without the multi-room capability and add it later.

 

3) If you order the multi-room option on the DVR, then SD STBs can view SD recorded material from the DVR, and HD STBs (non-DVR) can view both SD and HD recorded material. You cannot view material recorded on one DVR on another DVR, no matter how it is recorded, SD or HD.

 

4) The new code is already in use by FiOS customers in selected areas of the US. Assuming no serious flaws are discovered, the new code will be distributed to all customers in the coming weeks (I simply don't know how many weeks, or which areas of the country will get it when).

 

5) The code is distributed via the FiOS network, so whether or not you have the latest code really does not matter, it will be distributed to you automatically. But of course if you do not have the new code initially, you will probably experience some problems until you get the new code.

 

I hope the above makes sense. I do not have the multi-room DVR support, with just my wife and me we really don't see that much need for it, so I have no personal experience with it. But from what I have read here and at other FiOS forums the new code fixes most if not all of the problems that people have been complaining about.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
IMG 1.6.0, Build 06.89
Keller, TX 76248

Copper Contributor
gene1802
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎03-09-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Fios DVR vs Home Media DVR

thank you..that's the best explanation I've seen anywhere.
 

Account & Services

  • Pay Bill
  • Add/Change Services
  • Manage My Rewards+
  • Renew Your Contract
  • Manage Services
  • Visual 411

Email, News & TV

  • Check Email
  • Announcements

Support Tools